|
WSWS : News
& Analysis : The
Internet & Computerization
AOL-Time Warner threatens children running Harry Potter fan
sites
By Mike Ingram
28 February 2001
Use
this version to print
| Send this
link by email
A 15-year-old girl from West Yorkshire, England has found herself
at the centre of a raging battle being waged by media conglomerate
AOL-Time Warner against young fans of the Harry Potter
books.
Schoolgirl Claire Field, who had set up a not-for-profit web
site for fellow Harry Potter fans, received a threatening letter
from Warner Brothers at the end of last year demanding she hand
her site's domain name over to them.
AOL-Time Warner subsidiary Warner Brothers recently purchased
the movie rights to the books, written by J.K. Rowling, and are
preparing a film based on the first story Harry Potter
and the Philosopher's Stone.
Shortly after acquiring the Harry Potter intellectual
property rights and trademark, and also control of other words
appearing in the novels, Time Warner brought a case before the
World Intellectual Property Organisation (WIPO). The action was
taken against a company named HarperStephens and concerned the
registration of more than 100 domain names that included the words
Harry Potter or other words linked to the stories.
The WIPO is a United Nations panel set up to resolve disputes
over the names used to locate web sites on the Internet, in a
manner that avoids expensive court actions. This is supposed to
prevent so-called cyber-squatting by a third party:
i.e. the selling on of domain names that closely resemble company
names or trade marks. The names registered by HarperStephens included
findharrypotter.com, findharrypotter.org, findharrypotter.net,
theharrypottermovie.com, etc., and were clearly intended for commercial
use. Also counting against HarperStephens was the fact that the
names had all been registered almost immediately Warner Brothers
announced their intention to make the Harry Potter movie.
In this instance, the conflict was clearly one between competing
commercial interests and it would not have been too difficult
for Warner Brothers to win in a court battle. In the case of 15-year-old
Claire Field, however, there is no question of cyber-squatting
or any other pursuit of commercial gain. Like thousands of other
teenagers, Claire is a fan of Rowling's work and had set up a
useful resource for likeminded young people to exchange ideas,
find news and generally discuss the new literary phenomenon, which
has been credited with getting many children interested in reading
again.
Field's web site [www.harrypotterguide.co.uk] clearly states
on its opening page that it is an unofficial site with no connections
to J.K. Rowling, Warner Brothers, or the book's publishers, Bloomsbury
Publishing PLC and Scholastic Inc. She then provides links to
all of these companies.
(The domain name itself is an accurate description of the purpose
of the site: a guide to the Harry Potter stories and their many
characters. The British domain names arbitrator Nominet has already
indicated that it would grant the name to Field.)
On December 1 last year Claire received a letter from Neil
Blair, the Director of Legal & Business Affairs for Warner
Brothers, which said: Ms. Rowling and Warner Bros. are concerned
that your domain name registration is likely to cause consumer
confusion or dilution of the intellectual property rights... Your
registration of the above domain name [www.harrypotterguide.co.uk],
in our opinion, is likely to infringe the rights described above
and we would ask therefore that you please, within 14 days of
today's date, provide written confirmation that you will as soon
as practicable (and in any event within 28 days of today's date)
transfer to Warner Bros. the above domain name. We are prepared
to reimburse the registration fee [£9.99] incurred in your
registering the above mentioned domain name.
Upon receiving the letter, Ms Field's father Les wrote to the
Daily Mirror newspaper. After being picked up by Reuters
and several Internet news sites, the story solicited a response
from The Hollywood Report. The article, dated December
8 and reproduced in a press pack issued by Field's solicitor,
says that Reports of Warner Bros.' threatening a 15-year-old
girl with legal action over the Harry Potter Web site she built
are greatly exaggerated. The article cites complaints by
the moviemakers that Instead of responding to Warner Bros.,
Field chose to tell the media about the letter.
In refusing to simply hand over the domain name and preparing
to defend her legal right to run the site, Field has presented
a nightmare for AOL-Time Warner, who could have a difficult time
winning in the courts.
Others fans have even called for a worldwide boycott of merchandise
featuring Harry Potter.
Heather Lawver is a 16-year-old from the US who runs a web
site called the Daily Prophet, named after the Wizard
newspaper in the Harry Potter stories. After receiving letters
demanding she shut down her site, Lawver teemed up with Alistair
Alexander, a 33-year-old from London, to launch the Defence
Against the Dark Arts project at www.potterwar.org.uk.
The web site, dedicated to opposing the actions of Warner Brothers,
carries a financial appeal for Field's legal fund and messages
of support. In a page called How it all began, the
site lists others who have fallen victim to Warner Brother's attacks
upon fan sites.
* Catherine Chang, aged 15 from Singapore, received a letter
in relation to her site at HarryPotterNetwork.net.
* Sung, the 12-year-old owner of HarryPotterFAQ.com, is reported
to have also received a letter from Warner Brothers' legal department,
though the site says it has not seen the contents of the letter.
* 13 year olds Ross and Peter, owners of Harry-Potter-World.com,
have also received letters from Warner Brothers.
* Tom (13), who set up Hogwartsonline.net, named after the
school of wizardry attended by the Harry Potter character, has
also received a letter.
The potterwar.org.uk site also presents an appeal to the author
of the Harry Potter books: This site is set up to protest
at what's being done to Harry Potter fans in the name of J.K.
Rowling, and as an expression of support for everyone currently
getting the third degree from Warners.
So far, J.K. Rowling has not commented. Joanne, Joannewhy
have you forsaken us?
Field has also received the backing of UK Internet news site
The Register, who report, Apart from a number of
readers pledging money to a war fund, we have also had a man offering
a .ca' Harry Potter domain to Claire, an ISP [Internet Service
Provider] offering to host the site if her ISP gets cold feet
and various emails from other people that have been harassed by
Warner Brothers for their URLs.
What makes the stories such an attractive commercial proposition
is their tremendous popularity with young people. Having acquired
the film rights to Harry Potter, AOL-Time Warner is now seeking
to assert their control over anything remotely connected with
the books or the forthcoming movie.
In doing so the company is attacking the very strength of the
stories, the imaginative response they have provoked, expressed
in the creation of fan sites that AOL-Time Warner are seeking
to shut down.
See Also:
US Christian fundamentalists
target Harry Potter books
[5 August 2000]
The Internet
& Computerization
[WSWS Full Coverage]
Top of page
The WSWS invites your comments.
Copyright 1998-2008
World Socialist Web Site
All rights reserved |